Legislative Committee

The CalChiefs Legislative Committee reviews all California legislation that is introduced either in the Senate or Assembly.  CalChiefs has joined with the Fire Districts Association of California (FDAC) and created a joint legislative task force (TF) to better address statewide legislative needs.  Regular full meetings of the TF are held to discuss recommended positions on each bill. Regular full meetings of the committee are held to discuss recommended positions on each bill.  Positions taken are “Support”, “Oppose” or “Watch”.  Once consensus is reached on each bill, the positions are then presented to their respective eBoard for final approval.  As bills are constantly amended and CalChiefs is contacted for support on bills, these specific bills are then sent via email to the committee members for feedback and possible modification of the previously adopted position.

The Legislative Committee Members are:

Michael McLaughlin – CalChiefs (Chair)

Cosumnes Fire Department
Ph: (916) 405-7100
mikemclaughlin@calchiefs.org

Richard Pearce – FDAC (Vice Chair)

Tiburon Fire Department
(415) 435-7200
rpearce@tiburonfire.org

Ray Ramirez – CalChiefs (Voting)

Ontario Fire Department
(909) 395-2002
rramirez@ci.ontario.ca.us

Jeffrey Willis – FDAC (Voting)

Big Bear Fire Department
(909) 866-7566
jeff.willis@bigbearfire.org

Rocque Yballa – CalChiefs (Voting)

Central County Fire Department
(650) 558-7605
ryballa@ccfd.org

Steven Hall – FDAC (Voting)

Central FPD of Santa Cruz Fire Department
(831) 479-6842
stevenh@centralfpd.com

Melinda Hunley – CalChiefs (Voting)

Kern County Fire Communications Center
(661) 868-4058
mhunley@co.kern.ca.us
 

Mark Mills – FDAC (Voting)

Ross Valley Fire Department
(415) 258-4686
mmills@rossvalleyfire.org  

Paul Matheis – CalChiefs (Voting)

Newport Beach Fire Department (ret.)
(949) 505-3122
pmatheis@live.com

Rusty Dupray – FDAC (Voting)

Sacramento Metro Fire Department (ret.)
(916) xxx-xxxx
dupray.rusty@metrofire.ca.gov
 

Randy Metz – CalChiefs (Alternate)

Carlsbad Fire Department
(760) 602-4661
randy.metz@carlsbadca.gov

Jeff Maxwell – FDAC (Alternate)

Central FPD of Santa Cruz Fire Department
(831) 479-6842
jeffm@centralfpd.com
 

Ted Peterson – CalChiefs (Alternate)

Novato Fire Department
(415) 878-2690
tpeterson@novatofire.org

Micki Rucker – FDAC (Alternate)

Mi-Wuk Sugarpine Fire Department
(xxx) xxx-xxxx
mickirucker@comcast.net

Michael DuRee – CalChiefs – President

Long Beach Fire Department
(562) 570-2505
Michael.DuRee@longbeach.gov

Eric Dutton – CalChiefs – Executive Director

CalChiefs
(916) 923-9455
edutton@calchiefs.org 

Catherine Smith, FDAC Executive Director

Fire Districts Association of California
(800) 829-4309
casmith@fdac.org

Ralph Heim – Legislative Advocate

Public Policy Advocates
(916) 441-0702
ralph@ppallc.com

Russ Noack – Legislative Advocate

Public Policy Advocates
(916) 441-0702
russ@ppallc.com