skip to Main Content

California Building Standards Commission

The eleven (11) members of the Building Standards Commission (BSC) are appointed by the Governor of California and confirmed by the State Senate. The cabinet secretary of the State and Consumer Services Agency, or the secretary’s representative, serves as the Commission Chair.

BSC members represent the public, building design professionals, the building and construction industry, local government building officials, fire officials, and labor. Members serve four-year staggered terms and are not compensated, but are reimbursed for travel expenses.

The fire service representative is shown below.  Select the following link for a full list of Building Standards Commission members

Juvilyn Alegre – Local Fire Official Member


Supervising Deputy Fire Marshal
San Diego Fire & Rescue
[email protected]

Appointed by Governor Brown on February 26, 2018

Appointment Expiration: January 1, 2022

Commissioner Alegre is a Supervising Deputy Fire Marshal with the City of San Diego Fire-Rescue Department.  She has been wit the City of San Diego since 1994.  Prior to joining the Fire-Rescue Department she served as a Wastewater Pretreatment Inspector with the Metropolitan Wastewater Department and as a Hazardous Materials Inspector with the Environmental Services Department.

Juvilyn received her Bachelor of Science degree in Environmental and Occupation Health from California State University, Northridge and an Associate of Science Degree in Fire Prevention Technology from San Diego Miramar College.

Juvily resides in the city of Chula Vista with her husband and daughter.